40th Anniversary GTA logo

Events Programme for 2019

 

40 years of twinning!  2019 is the 40th anniversary of the Guildford-Freiburg twinning, and of the Guildford Twinning Association.

We are celebrating with a crowded programme of events, in partnership with Guildford Borough Council – see below.

Do come along!

 

 

Last updated: Sept. 22, 2019

 

 

     

Month

Open to the Public

Members only

Finalised?

March

 

German dinner at Weybourne House:

Wednesday 6 March

 

 Yes

May

Freiburg sculptors, Surrey Hills Sculpture Garden, Birtley Estate, Bramley GU5 0LB:

Saturday 4 May to Sunday 2 June

Listen to our radio interviews here

 

 

 Yes

 

Private view reception, Surrey Hills Sculpture Garden, Birtley Estate, Bramley GU5 0LB

Saturday 4 May

 Yes

 

May-June

"Voices of Freiburg"

Exhibition of 5 Freiburg artists at Guildford House Gallery, 155 High Street, Guildford GU1 3AJ (free admission):

Saturday 18 May to Sunday 16 June

 

 

 Yes

 

Afternoon tea private view reception at Guildford House Gallery, 155 High Street, Guildford GU1 3AJ:

Saturday 15 June

 Yes

June

GTA stand at Picnic in the Castle Grounds (free admission):

Saturday 1 June

 

 Yes

 

Members’ trip to Freiburg:

Thursday 6 to Sunday 9 June

 

 Yes

AGM in the Guildhall, High Street, Guildford GU1 3AA:

Tuesday 25 June

 

 Yes

August

John Sheppard Ensemble Freiburg concert at Holy Trinity Church, High Street, Guildford GU1 3RR (free admission):

Saturday 10 August

 

 

Yes

 

Summer lunch at Merrist Wood College:

Sunday 18 August

 

 Yes

September

 

Freiburg Oberbürgermeister's official 40th anniversary visit

4-6 September

Yes

September


 

Sustainability lecture by Simone Pflaum of Freiburg City Council, in the 5G Innovation Centre, University of Surrey:

Friday 6 September

 

Yes

October

Seminar for 6th-formers "Unlock the World through languages", by Dr. Ben Schofield of King's College London, at George Abbott School, Woodruff Avenue, Guildford GU1 1XX:

Thursday 3 October: 6pm - 7.30pm

more info here

 

   

October

Autumn Lecture on "Old and new German films" by Dr Helen Hughes of University of Surrey, in the Council Chamber, Borough Council Offices, Millmead House, Millmead, Guildford GU2 4BB:

Wednesday 16 October:
7.15pm

more info (including a seat reservation link) here

 

 

 Yes

December

Mini German Christmas market in the Guildhall, High Street, Guildford GU1 3AA:

Sunday 1 December:
11am - 4pm

 

 Yes

 

All enquiries to guildfordtwinning@gmail.com

 

Note: you may also like to click here to go to the British German Association's website, and see details of some of their forthcoming events.